Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
Merrimack Hockey Message Board : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.5 Merrimack Hockey Message Board > General > Schmidt a two-time semifinalist for Walter Brown Award
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Warrior Hockey News

Registered: Sep 2002
Posts: 81

Schmidt a two-time semifinalist for Walter Brown Award

BOSTON -- Merrimack junior defenseman and co-captain Bryan Schmidt (Bloomington, Minn.) was named for the second straight year as one of the semifinalists for the 53rd Walter Brown Award, given annually to the top American-born Division I college player in New England.

15 players were named. Schmidt is one of nine from Hockey East and five who are repeat semifinalists. He is also one of six defensemen named.

Schmidt leads all semifinalist defensemen with 12 goals and 16 assists for 28 points. In only three years, he now has 27 goals and 44 assists for 71 points, tied for 14th on Merrimack's all-time defenseman scoring list (third among those who played their entire career in Divsion I). He is third among all Warrior defenseman in career goals (first in Division I).

Schmidt is tied for the national lead in points by a defenseman.

Two years ago, Merrimack senior goaltender and captain Joe Exter (Cranston, R.I.) ranked third in the final balloting for the Walter Brown Award. Exter's third-place ranking was the highest ever for any Merrimack player.

The other semifinalists are: Andrew Alberts, Patrick Eaves and Ryan Shannon (Boston College), John Curry (Boston University), Lee Stempniak (Dartmouth), Tom Cavanagh, Dov Grumet-Morris and Noah Welch (Harvard), Tony Coskren (Holy Cross), Jimmy Howard (Maine), Marvin Degon (Massachusetts), Sean Collins (New Hampshire), Jason Guerriero (Northeastern), and Jaime Sifers (Vermont).

Last year's recipient was Steve Saviano of New Hampshire.

"This has been a very exciting and competitively balanced year in all three of the East's upper-division leagues, and I think that our slate of semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award reflects that balance and diversity," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello. "There is a lot of hockey yet to be played, though, and our committee members will be observing these nominees closely the rest of the way."

Criteria for the award's selection committee include leadership, character, sportsmanship, and ability as well as on-ice achievement.

The award is presented by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston at the New England Hockey Writers' annual dinner in April. Established in 1953, it is the oldest nationally recognized honor accorded to individual players in the sport of American college hockey.

This year's Walter Brown Award will be a topic of discussion on New England College Hockey Weekly with Paul McNamara. Gridiron Club past president and longtime committee member Tom Burke will be a guest on the show, which will air this coming Thursday, February 10, from 8 to 10 p.m. on 1510 The Zone, WWZN-AM 1510. The program will also be broadcast over the Internet at .

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-08-2005 03:43 AM
Warrior Hockey News is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Warrior Hockey News Click here to Send Warrior Hockey News a Private Message Click Here to Email Warrior Hockey News Visit Warrior Hockey News's homepage! Find more posts by Warrior Hockey News Add Warrior Hockey News to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:21 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is ON
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON

< Contact Us - Merrimack College Hockey >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.